• November 28th, 1900 - Austria-Hungary claims a concession for herself in Tianjin, after the Boxer War
  • September 7th, 1901 - "Protocole final" settling foreign claims after the Boxer War. As a result, Austria-Hungary obtains the right to station troops in Beijing, Tianjin, Tanggu.
  • August 1902 - Austria-Hungary takes control of her own concession
  • December 27th, 1902 - Treaty between China and Austria-Hungary on the cession of the concession in Tianjin
  • 1910 - Official disbandment of the Austro-Hungarian occupation corps in Northern China. Minimal personnel remains: 60 in Beijing, 20 in Tianjin, 2 in Tanggu
  • July 28th, 1914 - Austria-Hungary declares war to Serbia
  • August 6th, 1914 - Proclamation of China's neutrality
  • August 23rd 1914 - Japan declares war to Germany
  • August 25th 1914 - Japan declares war to Austria-Hungary
  • 1914 - Austria-Hungary freezes the assets of the French (majority) stakeholders in the Hotung-Baugesellschaft. Sending from Tianjin to Qingdao of Austro-Hungarian marines.
  • August 27th to November 7th, 1914 - Battle of Qingdao (Japanese and British forces versus German and Austro-Hungarian defenders)
  • September 3rd, 1914 - Theater of war established in Kiautschou Bay
  • July 31st, 1917 - Unveiling of the "Goennert plot" in Tianjin, for the Entente Powers to take over the Austro-Hungarian concession
  • August 14th, 1917 - China declares war to Austria-Hungary. Retrocession of Tianjin's Austro-Hungarian concession to China.


Last Update: 14.05.2018


The Double Monarchy and the Middle Kingdom:

International & Interdisciplinary Research Group about Austria-Hungary and China


President: Mathieu Gotteland, M.A.


E-Mail Address: association@doublemonarchy.com



* indicates required


Creative Commons License
Except otherwise noted, this website is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.