Tianjin's Imperial & Royal Concession

One major project of the research group is to ultimately produce a comprehensive history, under an international and interdisciplinary scope, of the sole Austro-Hungarian colony abroad, namely the concession held in common by the Empire of Austria and the Apostolic Kingdom of Hungary in the city of Tianjin (Northern China), from 1902 to 1917.


  • November 28th, 1900 - Austria-Hungary claims a concession for herself in Tianjin, after the Boxer War
  • September 7th, 1901 - "Protocole final" settling foreign claims after the Boxer War. As a result, Austria-Hungary obtains the right to station troops in Beijing, Tianjin, Tanggu.
  • August 1902 - Austria-Hungary takes control of her own concession
  • December 27th, 1902 - Treaty between China and Austria-Hungary on the cession of the concession in Tianjin
  • 1910 - Official disbandment of the Austro-Hungarian occupation corps in Northern China. Minimal personnel remains: 60 in Beijing, 20 in Tianjin, 2 in Tanggu
  • 1914 - Austria-Hungary freezes the assets of the French (majority) stakeholders in the Hotung-Baugesellschaft. Sending from Tianjin to Qingdao of Austro-Hungarian marines.
  • July 31st, 1917 - Unveiling of the "Goennert plot" in Tianjin, for the Entente Powers to take over the Austro-Hungarian concession
  • August 14th, 1917 - China declares war to Austria-Hungary. Retrocession of Tianjin's Austro-Hungarian concession to China.


Project's contributors:

Mathieu Gotteland

Last Update: 24.10.2016


The Double Monarchy and the Middle Kingdom:

International & Interdisciplinary Research Group about Austria-Hungary and China


President: Mathieu Gotteland, M.A.


E-Mail Address: association@doublemonarchy.com



* indicates required


Creative Commons License
Except otherwise noted, this website is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.